The day of the red rose

The day of the red rose


I asked the one who loves me about the day of the red rose
But he played it down, dismissing it as not worthy
He said; it makes no sense to worship the gods of love on a day designated by myths
He said; what is there to prove? It’s just a day, you know I love you
And my heart sank, not from his words blunt or to me as ice 
But because all my life I’ve never felt the rush of love on this day
I’ve never known what it feels like to be treated like a Queen god and gifted gifts of chocolates and flowers or things material
So for you who gets a rose today
Be happy, be grateful, for some of us who are taken will not feel the love on a high today, the day of the red rose.

Happy Valentine’s Day guys!!! Spread love not hate. 

One thought on “The day of the red rose

Leave a Reply

